The International Ice Patrol

Posted by on Sunday, March 27, 2016
USCG International Ice Patrol C-130.jpg

Following the sinking of the RMS Titanic in 1912 the International Ice Patrol was established in 1914.

It is an organization with the purpose of monitoring the presence of icebergs in the Atlantic and Arctic Oceans and reporting their movements for safety purposes.

Countries that contribute to the International Ice Patrol include Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Poland, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, and the United States of America. While the organization itself is operated by United States Coast Guard.

The primary mission of the Ice Patrol is to alert any seacraft traveling the great circle shipping lanes between Europe and the major ports of the United States and Canada of the presence of any icebergs that are there.

The Team

© Wx Centre