Saffir–Simpson Hurricane Scale

Posted by on Saturday, June 25, 2016

The Saffir–Simpson hurricane wind scale is the scale used to classify hurricanes.

In the Western Hemisphere tropical cyclones that exceed the intensities of tropical depressions, and tropical storms – into five categories distinguished by the intensities of their sustained winds.

The scale goes as follows:

33 hurricanes have attained Category 5 status in the Atlantic.

There is some criticism of the Saffir–Simpson hurricane wind scale for not taking rain, storm surge, and other important factors into consideration, but Saffir–Simpson hurricane wind scale defenders say that part of the goal of Saffir–Simpson hurricane wind scale is to be straightforward and simple to understand.

The Team

© Wx Centre