Lighthouses in Canada

Posted by on Friday, July 29, 2016

There are numerous lighthouses in Canada dotting the coastline.

Louisbourg Lighthouse is the oldest lighthouse in Canada. The Louisbourg Light was destroyed by British troops during the siege of 1758, and not rebuilt until 1842; the rubble of the original tower is still visible at the base of the current lighthouse.

In 1970, the Coast Guard began the process of systematically automating light stations and removing staff from them.

Parks Canada has listed 74 lighthouses in seven provinces as protected under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act. The list was created by the Canadian public who nominated 348 lighthouses for heritage status.

The lighthouses selected for preservation include 21 in British Columbia, 14 in Ontario, 5 in Quebec, 2 in New Brunswick, 14 in Nova Scotia, 7 in P.E.I. and 11 in Newfoundland and Labrador.

The Team

© Wx Centre