Civic Holiday for Some

Posted by Kyle Brookings on Sunday, August 5, 2018
Blue and White Sorry We're Closed Wooden Signage

If you happen to reside in Manitoba, Saskatchewan, British Columbia, Nova Scotia, PEI, parts of Ontario, New Brunswick, or Alberta, today is a civic holiday.

It's called Terry Fox Day in MB, Saskatchewan Day in SK, British Columbia Day in BC, Natal Day in Nova Scotia and PEI, Simcoe Day in Toronto, New Brunswick Day in New Brunswick, Colonel By Day in Ottawa, Heritage Day in Alberta and Joseph Brant Day in Burlington, ON. It is called Benjamin Vaughan day in the City of Vaughan, Ontario.

Quebec, Newfoundland & Labrador, Yukon are the exception. Quebec observes Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day on 24 June. In Yukon, Discovery Day is observed on the third Monday of August instead, and commemorates the 1896 discovery of gold in the territory and the start of the Klondike Gold Rush. In Newfoundland and Labrador, the Shops Closing Act provides for a civic holiday on the date of the Royal St. John's Regatta (usually the first Wednesday of August) in St. John's, the date of the Harbour Grace Regatta (usually the fourth Saturday in July) in Harbour Grace, and a date fixed by the applicable municipal council in all other municipalities. Several of these communities use the first Monday in August as a civic holiday, while others have not selected any date.

The Team

© Wx Centre